Conference : BLS 41

The 41st Annual Meeting of the Berkeley Linguistics Society (BLS41) will take place Saturday and Sunday, February 7-8, 2015, on the UC Berkeley campus. BLS41 welcomes submissions of abstracts that make rigorous use of linguistic data from a variety of sources and in a variety of subdisciplines, both descriptive and theoretical.

Plenary speakers:
Jessica Coon, Assistant Professor, McGill University
William Croft, Professor of Linguistics, University of New Mexico
Jeff Mielke, Associate Professor, North Carolina State University
Christopher Potts, Associate Professor, Standford University

Call for Papers:

Call Deadline: 31-Oct-2014

The general session welcomes papers from phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, syntax, pragmatics, sociolinguistics, historical-comparative linguistics, cognitive linguistics, and psycholinguistics.

The special session, entitled Fieldwork Methodology, will examine issues in fieldwork methodology. We welcome papers focusing on innovative fieldwork methods, as well as descriptions and/or theoretical work resulting from innovative fieldwork methods.

Shobhana Chelliah, Professor of Linguistics, University of North Texas
Kofi Yakpo, Assistant Professor, The University of Hong Kong

Authors may maximally submit one single-authored and one co-authored abstract. Abstracts, including title, data, and examples, must fit onto one page with 1” margins and 12pt font. References may be included on a second page. Omit names or phrasing that would otherwise reveal author identity. Surname-year citations of one’s own work are acceptable.

All abstracts must be submitted electronically as a .pdf file to EasyChair:

Please fill out all required fields and indicate at least one topic corresponding to the linguistic subfield(s) of greatest relevance to your abstract. All submissions will be anonymized for review.

All abstracts are due by Friday, October 31, 2014 at 11:59pm Pacific Time. Email correspondence concerning abstract submissions to Address general correspondence to

Conference website: