Conference: AIMM 2

The 2nd American International Morphology Meeting will be hosed by the Department of Linguistics at the University of California, San Diego, Nov. 8 – 10, 2013.

The Department of Linguistics at the University of California, San Diego invites abstracts for submission to the second American International Morphology Meeting (AIMM). AIMM was established to provide a collaborative forum for scholars working on morphological phenomena from a variety of frameworks and methodologies. Contributions concerning lesser-known languages and their relation to the development of various perspectives on morphological analysis and theory construction are highly encouraged. Student participation is welcome.

Abstract submission deadline: May 1st, 2013

Notification of results: June 15th, 2013

Invited Speaker:

Johanna Nichols (University of California, Berkeley) – Morphological Typology

Tutorial: Analogy and language change

Adam Albright (MIT)

Andrew Garrett (University of California, Berkeley)

Themed session: Affix order

Questions relating to affix order feature prominently in morphological theory: what is the nature of the principles that underlie the surface linear arrangement of morphological constructions? How do these principles interact? Examination of these and related questions has brought together different lines of work involving both new documentation of lesser-known morphological systems and closer study of better-known languages. Research on this phenomenon has also increasingly involved new methodologies, a variety of theoretical approaches, and examination of diachronic sources for complex morphological patterns. We invite papers, from any perspective, which explore the complexity of affix ordering in specific languages, present empirical challenges for current theories, and/or seek unified explanations for the range of cross-linguistic affix ordering patterns attested to date. Papers presenting original data from lesser-studied languages are particularly encouraged.

Contact email address:

Organizers: Farrell Ackerman and Gabriela Caballero.

Selection and Advisory Committee: Mark Aronoff (SUNY Stony Brook), Alice Harris (UMass Amherst), Greville Corbett (Surrey), Gregory Stump (Kentucky).


Department of Linguistics

University of California, San Diego

9500 Gilman Drive

La Jolla, CA 92093

Conference website: