Calls for papers: DGfS 2019

The 41stAnnual Conference of the German Linguistic Society (DGfS)  will be in Bremen from 6 to 8 March 2019 . The general topic is CONTRAST and OPPOSITION.

Invited Speakers

Walter Bisang (Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität Mainz)
– Grammar between explicitness and economy
Barbara Schlücker (Universität Leipzig)
– Contrast and opposition in word-formation and syntax
Eeva Sippola (University of Helsinki)
– Continuity and creativity in Creole grammar
Martine Vanhove (Université de Paris/Llacan CNRS Villejuif)
– Grammaticalisation in Cushitic Languages

Workshop 1: Kontraste und Oppositionen bei Genus und Geschlecht im Deutschen

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2483.html

Workshop Coordination
Gabriele Diewald (Universität Hannover)
gabriele.diewald@germanistik.uni-hannover.de
Damaris Nübling (Universität Mainz)
nuebling@uni-mainz.de

Workshop 2: Proper names versus common nouns: morphosyntactic contrasts in the languages of the world

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2468.html

Workshop Coordination
Johannes Helmbrecht (Universität Regensburg)
Johannes.Helmbrecht@sprachlit.uni-regensburg.de
Javier Caro Reina (Universität zu Köln)
javier.caroreina@uni-koeln.de

Workshop 3: Cross-linguistic variation in control phenomena

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2456.html

Workshop Coordination
Jutta Hartmann (IDS Mannheim)
hartmann@ids-mannheim.de
Anne Mucha (IDS Mannheim)
mucha@ids-mannheim.de
Beata Trawiński (IDS Mannheim)
trawinski@ids-mannheim.de
Angelika Wöllstein (IDS Mannheim)
woellstein@ids-mannheim.de

Workshop 4: Encoding varieties of topic and focus: the role of contrast and information status

Workshop website: http://idsl1.phil-fak.uni-koeln.de/37706.html

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2420.html

Workshop Coordination
Johannes Mursell (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main)
j.mursell@lingua.uni-frankfurt.de
Sophie Repp (Universität zu Köln)
sophie.repp@uni-koeln.de

Workshop 5: Concessives vs. adversatives: opposing opposition

Workshop website: https://sites.google.com/view/opposing-opposition-dgfs2019/

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2253.html

Workshop Coordination
Elena Castroviejo (Universidad del País Vasco)
elena.castroviejo@ehu.eus
Berit Gehrke (Université Paris Diderot)
berit.gehrke@linguist.univ-paris-diderot.fr
Laia Mayol (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)
laia.mayol@upf.edu

Workshop 6: Factors influencing the stability of phonetic contrasts and phonemic oppositions

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2434.html

Workshop Coordination
Felicitas Kleber (LMU München)
kleber@phonetik.uni-muenchen.de
Stefanie Jannedy (ZAS Berlin)
jannedy@leibniz-zas.de
Melanie Weirich (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena)
melanie.weirich@uni-jena.de

Workshop 7: Language change at the interfaces. On the interaction between syntax, prosody and information structure

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2215.html

Workshop Coordination
Roland Hinterhölzl (Universität Venedig)
rolandh@unive.it
Marco Coniglio (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)
marco.coniglio@phil.uni-goettingen.de
Chiara De Bastiani (Universität Venedig)
chiara.debastiani@unive.it
Nicholas Catasso (Bergische Universität Wuppertal)
catasso@uni-wuppertal.de

Workshop 8: Who cares? Contrast and opposition in „free“ phenomena

Workshop Coordination
Andreas Pankau (Freie Universität Berlin)
Andreas.Pankau@fu-berlin.de
Volker Struckmeier (Universität zu Köln)
volker.struckmeier@uni-koeln.de

Workshop 9: Koloniale und post-koloniale Toponomastik

Workshop Coordination
Matthias Schulz (Universität Würzburg)
matth.schulz@uni-wuerzburg.de
Doris Stolberg (IDS Mannheim)
stolberg@ids-mannheim.de

Workshop 10: Prosody from a cross-domain perspective: how language speaks to music (and vice versa)

Workshop Coordination
Mathias Scharinger (Universität Marburg)
mathias.scharinger@staff.uni-marburg.de
Natalie Boll-Avetisyan (Universität Potsdam)
nboll@uni-potsdam.de

Workshop 11: Iconicity in Language

Workshop website: http://www.leibniz-zas.de/dgfs_iconicity.html

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2334.html

Workshop Coordination
Cornealia Ebert (ZAS Berlin)
ebert@leibniz-zas.de
Susanne Fuchs (ZAS Berlin)
fuchs@leibniz-zas.de
Aleksandra Ćwiek (ZAS Berlin)
cwiek@leibniz-zas.de
Manfred Krifka (ZAS Berlin)
krifka@zas.gwz-berlin.de

Workshop 12: Sorting out the concepts behind definiteness

Workshop Coordination
Carla Bombi (Universität Potsdam)
carla.bombi.ferrer@uni-potsdam.de
Radek Simik (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
radek.simik@hu-berlin.de

Workshop 13: Post-truth: the semantics and pragmatics of saying „what you believe to be false“

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2323.html

Workshop Coordination
Daniel Gutzmann (Universität zu Köln)
daniel.gutzmann@uni-koeln.de
Emar Maier (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
emar.maier@gmail.com
Katharina Turgay (Universität Koblenz-Landau)
turgay@uni-landau.de

Workshop 14: Variation in der Argumentstruktur des Deutschen. Empirische und theoretische Perspektiven im Spannungsfeld von Valenz und Konstruktion

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2414.html

Workshop Coordination
Robert Külpmann (Universität Bonn)
kuelpmann@uni-bonn.de
Laura Neuhaus (Universität Bonn)
laura.neuhaus@uni-bonn.de
Vilma Symanczyk Joppes (Bergische-Universität Wuppertal)
symanczyk@uni-wuppertal.de

Workshop 15: Encoding emotive attitudes in non-truth-conditional meaning

Workshop website: https://sites.google.com/site/encodingemotiveattitudes/home

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2389.html

Workshop Coordination
Curt Anderson (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf)
andersc@hhu.de
Katherine Fraser (UPV/EHU)
fraserk4@gmail.com

Workshop 16: New horizons in the study of nominal phrases

Workshop website: https://sites.google.com/view/nhsnp

Call for papers: https://linguistlist.org/issues/29/29-2336.html

Workshop Coordination
Andreas Blümel (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)
andreas.bluemel@phil.uni-goettingen.de
Anke Holler (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)
anke.holler@phil.uni-goettingen.de